lunedì 18 aprile 2016

Boston Marathon 2016: Ethiopians reign supreme

Ethiopians Lemi Berhanu and Atsede Baysa outpaced their Kenyan counterparts to win the men and women’s titles at the 120th Boston Marathon on Monday.
Kenyan women lost the Boston Marathon title when Joyce Chepkirui finished third in as Baysa won the race in 2 hours, 29 minutes and 19 seconds.
Baysa, the 2009 Paris Marathon and 2012 Chicago Marathon champion, sprinted from 37 seconds behind at 34km mark, passing Chepkirui and compatriot Tirfi Tsegaye to win.
Tsegaye finished second in 2:30:02 while Chepkirui, the Africa and Commonwealth 10,000m champion came third in 2:30:50. Chepkirui, the 2015 Amsterdam Marathon champion got US$ 40,000 (Sh 4.04m) for her exploit.
Other Kenyans the 2013 Amsterdam Marathon champion Valentine Kipketer settled fifth in 2:33:13 closely followed by Commonwealth Marathon champion Flomena Cheyech in 2:33:40.
Caroline Rotich, who won last year failed to secure a top 10 finish. Kenyan women had won the last five editions but Rita Jeptoo, who won in 2013 and 2014 failed a doping test and is serving a two-year ban starting January 2015 pending her appeal.
Kenyan men failed to secure the title for the fourth consecutive year when Wesley Korir, the last Kenyan to win the race in 2012, finished fourth in 2:14:05.
Ethiopian staged a podium sweep with Berhanu winning in 2:12:45, beating defending champion Lelisa Desisa to second in 2:13:32 and Yemane Tsegay in 2:14:02.

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento